# Appointment of President and Vice-Presidents

# **Summary**

1. The General Assembly is invited to appoint a President and Vice-Presidents for 2006/2007.

# Recommendations

2. That Lord Richard Best be appointed President of the Association and the MPs, Peers, and MEPs listed in paragraph 3 below be appointed as Vice-Presidents for 2006/2007.

#### 3. **MPs**

#### Conservatives

Christopher Chope OBE MP
The Rt Hon David Curry MP
Andrew Lansley CBE MP
Eric Pickles MP
Caroline Spelman MP

### Labour

Mary Creagh MP
Jessica Morden MP
Rt Hon Stephen Byers MP
Rt Hon Nick Raynsford MP
Clive Betts MP
Barry Sheerman MP
Andrew Dismore MP
Alison Seabeck MP
Sadik Khan MP

#### **Liberal Democrat**

Lynne Featherstone MP
Julia Goldsworthy MP
Paul Rowen MP
Andrew Stunnell OBE MP1

#### **Peers**

#### Conservative

Baroness Hanham CBE Lord Hanningfield DL The Rt Hon The Lord Jenkin of Roding

#### Labour

Baroness Glenys Thornton
Lord Toby Harris
Lord Peter Smith
Baroness Pat Hollis
Lord Larry Whitty

#### **Liberal Democrat**

Baroness Barker Lord Bradshaw Lord Dholakia Baroness Maddock Lord Roger Roberts

#### **Cross Benchers**

Lord Butler of Brockwell GCB CVO Lord Dearing Baroness Greengross OBE Baroness Howarth of Breckland Lord Laming CBE DL Baroness Prashar CBE

#### **MEPs**

# Labour

Richard Howitt MEP

# Conservative

Edward McMillan-Scott MEP

#### **Liberal Democrat**

Andrew Duff MEP Fiona Hall MEP Saj Karim MEP Contact Officer: Cathy Boyle (cathy.boyle@lga.gov.uk) (020 7664 3230)